top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMrs. Brown

Gearing up for the school year

Updated: Jun 26, 2020

Moving forward we know that school will look different for us all.



First, enjoy the time you have together as family and remember as we look at the new year ahead, do it with grace. The future of instructional space is a moving target and can change a LOT quickly. Please know that I've got your children's back and am here to keep them safe and provide them a rich learning environment, where ever that is.


I've got your children's back and am here to keep them safe and provide them a rich learning environment, where ever that is..”

As you gear up for the next year, take some time to get to know me and our online classroom by viewing my teaching website and our Google Classroom.


Teaching Website

You've found my teaching website- YEAH! Now take some time to explore it and look at each page. You will find information about me, the teacher and my education philosophy. These are important to understand why and how I teach the way I do. Also find information about our classroom academics and the curriculum approved by our district. I have supplemental resources I use online and links for these are located under the CLASS LINKS SECTION. In addition you will find a NEWS/EVENTS tab that has information specific to our classroom with a link to the district calendar. For example, if we have a special class field trip or party, you will find info there for it. I will not post everything relevant to the school district. They have a site to do that. This is our classroom page. Lastly, find a CONTACT page with how to reach me by email and text. I have VERY POOR cell service, just a heads up. There is a link for you to subscribe to optional newsletters and information on my teaching website.


Google Classroom

As 5th graders we will be using Google Classroom regularly for every aspect of our instruction. We also will rely on it heavily so instruction can take place within the school or virtually if need be. Our Google Classroom is the place to find assignments that are given and when they are due. Parents can access this and see their students progress. I will post our daily Instructional Video in classroom with ALL LINKS attached. There will be a lot of guided practice to using it. 5th Grade is a pivotal year to teach valuable skills for your student to excel in middle and high school so I will do my best to prepare them during this year.


Communication

I use many means to communicate in our classroom. 1. this website, 2. Google Classroom, 3. Newsletter, 4. Email, 5. Text/Phone Call, 6. Mail, 7. Blog and 8. Remind. I need to know which you prefer and which you DO NOT prefer. I can't be everywhere at one time but try my best to keep open lines of communication at all times with consistency. I do have office hours and am not available outside of those times because I am in school full time and phone service is poor where I live.


School Supplies

Our school supply list for 4th and 5th grade has been created together to streamline and create consistent expectations. Our list is posted on my home page, in Google Classroom and paper copies are available at the school. I have a list of items I am in need of for the classroom also. If you have any of these items you wish to donate I thank you in advance. These items are used to enrich our instruction in projects we will do.


I look forward to meeting you and getting to know your expectations for the upcoming school year! Please feel free to reach out to me at any time!


~Mrs. Jamie Brown



10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Our Class Loves to Read!

Dear Family, With a $25 order, you can pick a FREE $5 Book (use code: READS). Shop Our Class Page: https://orders.scholastic.com/WLB8W...

コメント


bottom of page